I Love You: The South African Way

Couple In Love

South Africa is known for its diversity of cultures and we are lovingly named the rainbow nation.  There are at least 35 indigenous languages and 11 are official languages!

English is the primary language used in parliament.  However, it is not the most widely spoken language in South Africa.  It takes a mere fourth place after isiZulu (22.7%), isiXhosa (16%) and Afrikaans (13.5%).

"I love you" in all the official languages

Here goes in alphabetical order:

Afrikaans:  Ek is lief vir jou.

English:  I love you.

IsiNdebele:  Niyakutanda.

IsiXhosa:  Ndiykuthanda.

IsiZulu:  Ngiyakuthanda.

Sepedi:  Ke a go rata.

Sesotho:  Ke a go rata.

Setswana:  Ke a go rata.

SiSwati:  Ngiyakutsandza.

Tshivenda:   Ngiyakutsandza.

Xitsonga:  Ndzakurhandza.

I am looking forward to hearing from you.  Tell me in the comments which language you speak and how to say "I love you" in it.

2 Thoughts to “I Love You: The South African Way”

  1. Now living in England, I’m always so proud to say that I’m South African. Here in Britain you can say ‘I love you’ not only in English, but also in Welsh: ‘Rwy’n dy garu di’ and Scottish Gaelic: ‘tha gaol agam ort’… Not a clue how to pronounce it though!

    1. Nicolette

      Haha! Always good to be proudly South African. Thank you for getting in touch!

Leave a Comment